in which I wax not-so-poetical: [the Charlottesville edition]

right now is a moment of BLEH BLEHHHH boehfabjeo I LURV CHARLOTTESVILLE SO MUCH RIGHT NOW now now

and on.

Dear God, thank you so much for this time I’ve had in a place I can say, with surprising decisiveness and certainty of passion, is my favorite, in the whole world, ever, BLEH. And thank you for all the different kinds of seasons I’ve had here. And thank you for the friendships that have blossomed here (ohhh man that flower-friendship imagery) and for the nourishing alone hours The University calendar allows here. Thank you, for its thriving, but un-overwhelming, thrift shops and craiglist forums. Thank you, because my family is here. Thank you, from this cozy corner of a favorite coffee shop I’ve only been to twice. You’re the Father of good and perfect gifts indeed, and I know that this is true all the time, but I want to take these particular moments to praise you (to Thank You) in the specifics of my emotions. And run-ons. And on, and on, and ons.

This place shapes me, teaches me, lets me figure out all its windy roads, slowly but surely. My stubborn brain and heart are learning the ways of themselves as I find these skinny trails I love best; remember the nooks and crannies where memories got made and lessons got learned.

and now, a review of cville, 2014 in all its random glory:

 IMG_2648

 IMG_2656

IMG_2695

IMG_2726

IMG_2740

IMG_3049

IMG_3055

IMG_3080

IMG_3086

IMG_3121

IMG_3178

IMG_3271

IMG_3285

IMG_3319

IMG_3390

IMG_3393

IMG_3517

IMG_3698

IMG_3734

IMG_3745

IMG_3750

IMG_3770

IMG_3814

IMG_3872

IMG_4174

IMG_4182

IMG_4193

IMG_4204

IMG_4251

IMG_4254

IMG_4271

IMG_4386

IMG_4406

I LOVE YOU, you city of hipster coffee-lovers, well-educated polo tee wearers, city market go-ers, local art supporters, self-acclaimed RealFood appreciators, pretty-sky gazers! Thank you for your forgiving little roads full of life lessons and u-turnables, for your secret meadows full of magic star-light nights, for the not-so-secret neighboring neighborhoods full of sweet coffee and Mexican food, for your mountains and nearby farms and hiking trails [appreciated from afar, yes], for your simple, 1-road layout that makes me realize I am not cut out for city life, maybe. And those arms generous enough to withstand the onslaught of my unabashed and embarrassingly LOUD. LOVE.

You are my favorite.

For now, anyway 😉

2 thoughts on “in which I wax not-so-poetical: [the Charlottesville edition]

  1. Such a heartfelt post! You gotta show me some of those new cafes that you found sometime :). Miss you lots!

Leave a Reply

